Bank accounts and breakdown cover
Packaged current accounts, and paid add-ons to a current account, checked against the banks' own pages for breakdown cover. The first table lists those the latest check verified, each value as the bank's page states it, or, where a bank's pages couldn't be read, as the bank's published Open Banking product data lists it. The policy document sets the conditions of the cover, and the cover that comes with an account can differ from the provider's own retail product.
Verified in the latest check (16)
Alphabetical by bank. Each value is shown with the wording it was read from on the bank's own pages and a link to that page, or, for an account whose source link names the bank's Open Banking product data, the wording or field the bank's listing gives and a link to that listing, with the date the bank last updated it. “Not stated” means the pages or listing read didn't say.
Account | Product type | Monthly fee | Cover provided by | Cover basis | Roadside assistance | Home start | National recovery | Onward travel | European cover | Eligibility | Last verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bank of Scotland | Packaged account | £22.50 a month “Platinum Account monthly maintaining the account fee of £22.50 per month.” | “AA Breakdown family Cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family member is covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or older” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Aug 2026 |
Bank of Scotland Silver Account | Packaged account | £11.50 a month “Silver Account monthly account fee of £11.50 per month” | “AA breakdown family cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family members are covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance.” | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or over” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Aug 2026 |
Barclays | Paid add-on to a current account | £17.50 a month “Monthly fee
£17.50” | “Breakdown cover provided by RAC Motoring Services (Firm Reference No 310208) and/or RAC Insurance Limited (Firm Reference No 202737).” | Personal cover “Unlimited callouts in the UK, plus cover for you as a driver or passenger when travelling.” | Yes “We'll help to repair your vehicle if it breaks down on the roadside, or at home, in the UK” | Yes “Roadside and At Home” | Yes “Roadside assistance, national recovery and onward travel to anywhere in the UK” | Yes “Onward Travel” | Yes “And you get RAC breakdown cover in the UK and Europe too.” | Minimum age 18 “Aged between 18 -79” UK resident “Live in the UK for at least 183 days a year” Other condition stated “Aged between 18 -79” Other condition stated “Unless you cancel within the 14 day cooling-off period, you must hold this Pack for a minimum term of six months from the purchase date, after which you can cancel the Pack at any time.” | 15 Oct 2026 |
Barclays | Paid add-on to a current account | £26 a month “Monthly fee
£26.00” | “Details of the Insurers Cover under Sections A and B (Roadside, At Home and Recovery) is provided by RAC Motoring Services.” | Personal cover “Unlimited callouts in the UK, plus cover for you as a driver or passenger when travelling.” | Yes “Roadside assistance, national recovery and onward travel to anywhere in the UK” | Yes “RAC Comprehensive Breakdown Cover You can relax when you drive as you now have RAC Roadside, Recovery At Home & Onward Travel in the UK – and breakdown cover in Europe.” | Yes “Roadside assistance, national recovery and onward travel to anywhere in the UK” | Yes “Roadside assistance, national recovery and onward travel to anywhere in the UK” | Yes “You'll also get RAC breakdown cover in the UK and Europe.” | 15 Oct 2026 | |
Packaged account | £19 a month Listed as FeeType: ServiceCAccountFeeMonthly; FeeAmount: 19.00; ApplicationFrequency: Monthly | “AA breakdown Family Cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family member is covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance and At Home.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance and At Home.” | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “To apply for a Halifax Ultimate Reward Current Account you must be 18 or over and a UK resident.” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UKExisting customers only “Available to existing customers only” | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 29 Jul 2026 | |
Lloyds Bank | Packaged account | £27.50 a month “Maximum combined monthly maintaining the account fee of £27.50 per month.” | “AA Breakdown family Cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family member is covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or older” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Oct 2026 |
Lloyds Bank Club Lloyds Silver Account | Packaged account | £16.50 a month “Maximum combined monthly maintaining the account fee of £16.50 per month” | “AA breakdown family cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family members are covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance.” | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or over” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Oct 2026 |
Lloyds Bank | Packaged account | £22.50 a month “Platinum Account monthly maintaining the account fee of £22.50 per month” | “AA Breakdown family Cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family member is covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance, At Home and National Recovery.” | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or older” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Oct 2026 |
Lloyds Bank Silver Account | Packaged account | £11.50 a month “Silver Account monthly maintaining the account fee of £11.50 per month” | “AA breakdown family cover” | Personal cover “The customer and eligible family members are covered, not the vehicle.” | Yes “Includes Roadside Assistance.” | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Minimum age 18 “You're aged 18 or over” UK resident Listed as ResidencyIncluded: UK | 15 Oct 2026 Bank's listing updated 4 Oct 2026 |
Nationwide | Packaged account | £18 a month “£18 monthly fee” | Not stated | Yes “Whether you're at home or by the roadside, you'll have the help you need.” | Yes “No matter where you are, you'll be helped on your way with the AA's Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel covers.” | Yes “No matter where you are, you'll be helped on your way with the AA's Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel covers.” | Not stated | Yes “Worldwide family travel and mobile phone insurance, plus UK and European breakdown cover.” | 15 Oct 2026 | ||
NatWest | Packaged account | £23 a month “Reward Platinum has a £23 monthly fee.” | “Car breakdown cover is provided by Automobile Association Developments Limited (trading as AA Breakdown Services).” | Personal cover “You’re covered as a driver or passenger in any privately registered vehicle you travel in throughout the UK.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Not stated | 15 Oct 2026 | |
Royal Bank of Scotland | Packaged account | £39 a month “£39 monthly fee.” | “Car breakdown cover is provided by Automobile Association Developments Limited (trading as AA Breakdown Services).” | Personal cover “You’re covered as a driver or passenger in any privately registered vehicle you travel in throughout the UK.” | Yes “UK & European car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK & European car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK & European car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK & European car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “Our Black bank accounts come with UK and European breakdown cover.” | 15 Oct 2026 | |
Royal Bank of Scotland | Packaged account | £23 a month “Reward Platinum has a £23 monthly fee.” | “Car breakdown cover is provided by Automobile Association Developments Limited (trading as AA Breakdown Services).” | Personal cover “You’re covered as a driver or passenger in any privately registered vehicle you travel in throughout the UK.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Yes “UK car breakdown cover, including Roadside Assistance, At Home, National Recovery and Onward Travel.” | Not stated | Not stated | 15 Oct 2026 | |
Santander Santander Edge Explorer | Packaged account | £17 a month “Protection and perks for you and your family for £17 a month.” | Not stated | Personal cover “UK and European breakdown cover – whether you’re the driver or passenger” | Yes “Assistance at the roadside, or at home, day or night.” | Not stated | Not stated | Yes “Replacement vehicle, onward travel arrangements or hotel accommodation up to the value of £60 per person and maximum limit of £500, if garage repair of your vehicle isn’t an option.” | Yes “Breakdown cover in UK and Europe” | 15 Oct 2026 | |
The Co-operative Bank | Packaged account | £12 a month “All for £12 a month.” | “Breakdown cover provided by RAC Motoring Services (Registered No 01424399) and/or RAC Insurance Ltd (Registered No 2355834).” | Not stated | Yes “Roadside - We'll help to repair your vehicle if it breaks down on the roadside in the UK.” | Yes “At Home - we can help if you break down at home.” | Not stated | Yes “Onward Travel - If your vehicle can't be repaired on the day you break down, we'll either arrange you a hire car, alternative transport, or an overnight hotel.” | Yes “For people who want all the features of a current account, plus helpful, everyday extras like UK and European breakdown cover, worldwide travel insurance, and mobile phone insurance.” | 15 Oct 2026 | |
Virgin Money | Packaged account | £14 a month “A bank account with insurance benefits for a monthly fee of £14.00” | “Breakdown cover provided by Green Flag, underwritten by U K Insurance Limited.” | Personal cover “Cover whether you're a driver or a passenger” | Yes “Breakdown cover from Green Flag gets you back on the road if you breakdown at your home or at the roadside whether in the UK or Europe.” | Yes “Breakdown Cover in the UK What’s covered Roadside help, Cover at Home, National Recovery & Onward Travel Green Flag will come out and help you if your vehicle has broken down by the roadside, at your home, or in the place where you usually keep it.” | Yes “Breakdown Cover in the UK What’s covered Roadside help, Cover at Home, National Recovery & Onward Travel Green Flag will come out and help you if your vehicle has broken down by the roadside, at your home, or in the place where you usually keep it.” | Yes “Breakdown Cover in the UK What’s covered Roadside help, Cover at Home, National Recovery & Onward Travel Green Flag will come out and help you if your vehicle has broken down by the roadside, at your home, or in the place where you usually keep it.” | Yes “European Cover - If you breakdown in Europe.” | 15 Oct 2026 |
Also checked, not verified in the latest check (2)
The latest check didn't verify these from the bank's own pages: a page couldn't be read, didn't mention breakdown cover, didn't state enough about it, or said the account is no longer available. So nothing is shown about their cover or fee, and being listed here doesn't mean an account includes breakdown cover. Alphabetical by bank.
Account | Product type | Last verified |
|---|---|---|
Monzo Max | Packaged account | Not yet verified |
NatWest Premier Reward Black | Packaged account | Not yet verified |