Breakdown cover waiting periods
Waiting periods, restricted starts and add-on waits defined, with when each UK breakdown provider's own pages say new cover starts and a source link for each. Checked 8 October 2026.
A waiting period is the time between buying a breakdown policy and being able to use it. Some providers call it an inception period. A breakdown during the waiting period is not covered by the new policy.
Terms
- Waiting period (inception period): the time after purchase before any cover applies.
- Restricted start: only part of the cover applies at first, for example roadside assistance only, with the remaining features starting later.
- Feature or add-on wait: a separate waiting period on one feature or add-on, which can be longer than the policy's.
- Wait after a change: a waiting period that applies again when a vehicle is changed or added, or when cover is upgraded.
- Future start date: a start date chosen at purchase that is later than the end of the waiting period.
What each provider states
Provider statements are quoted from each provider's own pages as fetched on 8 October 2026, with a link to the page. “Not stated on the provider's public pages checked” means the pages fetched that day do not mention it; the policy wording may still set terms. Aviva is not listed because its pages could not be fetched. Linked provider names go to that provider's page on Cover Route.
- AA: “Our breakdown cover will activate 24 hours after purchase. You can also choose to buy cover that starts up to 2 months later.” Both pages also carry “Don’t buy online – call us 24/7 for instant cover”. On add-ons: “You can only claim on Parts and Garage Cover for breakdowns that happen after the first 14 days of your cover. Our Key Cover also has a 14-day wait period if you pick today’s date when adding it to your policy”. On changing vehicle: “We'll help with breakdowns that happen from 24 hours after you’ve updated us.” (sources: theaa.com/breakdown-cover/compare-breakdown-cover, theaa.com/breakdown-cover/how-our-cover-works)
- AutoAid: Not stated on the provider's public pages checked. (sources: autoaidbreakdown.co.uk, autoaidbreakdown.co.uk/personal-based-cover)
- Britannia Rescue: Not stated on the provider's public pages checked. (sources: britanniarescue.com/breakdown-cover.html, britanniarescue.com/breakdown-cover/breakdown-cover-compare.html)
- Emergency Assist: “Our covers carry a 24 hour inception period, which means that for the first 24 hours from when your cover commences, you will not be able to call upon our service.” “in the event you change your vehicle during the course of your cover the 24 hour inception period will reapply from when the change takes effect.” (source: emergencyassistltd.co.uk/breakdown-cover/breakdown-cover-offers)
- ETA: “Cover is active 24 hours after purchase of your policy, or from the start date you have selected, if future dated. Note that this does not apply to upgraded or renewed policies” (source: eta.co.uk/breakdown-cover/car-faqs)
- GEM Motoring Assist: “At GEM we don't offer instant breakdown cover, the earliest we can cover you from is 24 hours after purchase.” (source: motoringassist.com/breakdown-cover)
- Green Flag: “your breakdown cover will start exactly 24 hours after you buy your policy.” “For the first day of our cover, you’ll only be able to use roadside assistance. Any other cover features you have will apply the following day.” (source: greenflag.com)
- Halfords Breakdown Cover: for complimentary cover with a Halfords Autocentre service, “Your cover starts once your service has been completed.” On upgrades: “If you have complimentary breakdown cover, enhanced cover is subject to a 24-hour waiting period before it becomes active.” On changing vehicle: “we require 24 hours’ notice before cover for the new vehicle becomes effective.” The start of a newly bought policy is not stated on the pages checked. (source: halfordsbreakdowncover.com/breakdown-cover/frequently-asked-questions)
- RAC: on the Standard and Extra cover cards, National Recovery “Starts after 24 hours.” RAC's AA comparison page lists, among things breakdown cover does not usually include: “Breakdowns within a 24‑hour waiting period after you buy your cover (for new policies).” On the Key Replace add-on: “Cover starts after 7 days.” (sources: rac.co.uk/breakdown-cover/deals, rac.co.uk/breakdown-cover/compare-breakdown-cover/aa, rac.co.uk/breakdown-cover/breakdown-help)
- Saga: Not stated on the provider's public pages checked. (source: saga.co.uk/car-insurance/breakdown-cover)
- Start Rescue: “If you buy a new policy, you need to wait 24 hours before it starts, unless you've picked a start date that's more than 24 hours away.” “If you have chosen our Two to Five Star Cover, for the first 48 hours from the start date of your policy, cover is limited to One Star Cover only (Roadside Assistance and Local Recovery up to 10 miles within the UK).” On adding vehicles: “You won’t be covered for any additional vehicles for the first 48 hours of updating your vehicle details with us.” (source: startrescue.co.uk/breakdown-cover/frequently-asked-questions)
Related pages
- Breakdown cover providers: specification pages for each provider.
- Breakdown cover comparisons: provider pairs side by side.